Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mörk Borg English
by Robert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 20:05:13

It's a good wee game while containing a lot of great flavour but there's not a lot of substance to get your teeth into.

However, imo, I don't think it's a good as everone has cracked it up to be. YMMV of course!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Coriolis - The Third Horizon Core Book
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2021 09:00:37

Angel's Citadel just reviewed this product. You can check out our thoughts here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/06/11/review-coriolis/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis - The Third Horizon Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Coriolis Calendar
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:37:42

Ok so this is just a beautiful book, I am using the calendar in my game and its perfect for use in working through the very complex timeline of the core modules for Coriolis. Every one of the Icon's is given a royal treatment and the images alone make the book worth buying. I am also a fan of the story for each of the Icons, they add colour to the game and give the Scheherazade treatment to each of the Icons, making them come alive. I can recommend this book enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:33:19

So I liked the colour this product provides and for getting into character its often worth picking up a few words here and there. Its very short but then its less than a cup of coffee so the balance for me is there. It'll save you an amount of work looking up phrases in Arabic Dictionaries and give you a few choice words to say.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:49:52

I will be honest, I was hoping for more re the factions, covering the thematic elements of every faction and in particular how the tech they develop aligns with their fundamental beliefs, for instance I would have liked to have seen tech from the Nomads as they have a strong link to the second horizion. Having said that its a nice piece of work from the Free League Stable, they really know how to present thier information and deliver a beautiful product overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:42:20

The Planetarium is one of those very useful tools for a GM with a thousand things to do everyday. It provides a concise background to every system in the Miran Chain, famous for Zalos, Odacon and of course Mira itself, but with many poorly or nor described at all systems. For a party who have an exploration or mercantile bent this resource allows the gm to quickly describe entire systems in some detail and gives a number of launching points for the imagination of flower and grow. Each planet in every system has a small image, each system is visualised by sun allowing you to accurately depict the entire system in a moment. All of the information could be provided to the players ahead of time (except for the story leads embedded in system description), giving the party access to plot their own path for a more freeform style game.

Overall a really good product and a great companion for the Coriolis Atlas (especially the community sourced one) filling in all of the detail of the less well understood systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:09:11

Ok I am a sucker for an interesting setting and the conflict that arises between cultures, which is what is so great about Vaesen. I really appreciated the detail that Niclas has established for the indigenous inhabitants of the area and the inclusion of their cultural beliefs in the game. The plot of the adventure is a solid Industrialisation versus local beliefs tale, with good characters and some complexity of motivations on behalf of both groups in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creature Creator. An alien beast creator for Coriolis.
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:05:33

Hey, this is actually a really nice tool for a quick monster creation need, the tables are pretty well thought out and the structure of the beasts is pretty good with most analogues covered through the framework provided. I actually like it a lot and am using it to create on the fly monsters for my death world campaign I am running using Coriolis. Nice work man.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creature Creator. An alien beast creator for Coriolis.
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Mythic Japan - Vaesen Setting Expansion
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2021 05:37:58

We on the Effket podcast rarely review stuff, beacuse even if it looks nice and reads well, unless he ave played it we don't think we should comment. But is is one FLW product that we have played, and we LOVE it. Whats great about it? Life path generation - Thomas and Brandon have worked hard to create a life path system that introdcies players not only to the culture, but to the specific period. It has a much more narrow lacation in time than the core game, focussing on the Meiji restoration. This was a time of cultural upheaval and rapid modernisation and the life paths reflect that. Its excellent. The Society of the Third Eye - the japanese version ofteh socienty is well researched and comes with history. The "Vaesen" - the supernatural creatures you face are extrardinary and great fun.

Search out the Effekt podcasts' youtube channel for actual play examples of this great setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Japan - Vaesen Setting Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Mythic Japan - Vaesen Setting Expansion
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2021 07:21:12

Basically, the sourcebook does not turn the system to the extreme, of course, but changes little but flavorful details.

The archetypes have been adapted somewhat, there are still Academic, Warrior, Criminal, ... and so on, but of course they all have their own touch. The English terms have been kept - this makes the handling a lot easier. Unfortunately, the professions fall back into Japanese without explanation. Well, I know "Ronin" or "Samurai", but with "Onna Bugeisha" I can't avoid googling.

The author has even given us a small GM chapter with conflict ideas and suggestions. Here he also goes into the subtleties and differences between the Yokai and Vaesen.

In the meantime, the layout has been widely revised and is now much easier to read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbaroum: Playing with Goblins
by Nicolas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2021 06:36:36

Les PJs découvrent un village gobelin dans le Davokar clair, et ceux-ci les invitent à participer à leurs jeux en échange de leur aide... à moins que ?

C'est du très, très bon travail. Le module est bien écrit, bien présenté, plein de conseils très bien vus. L'aventure est simple et efficace, les gobelins sont très bien décrits, leurs jeux sont parfaits (sérieusement, même sans parler du scénario, la description des gobelins, de comment les jouer, et leurs jeux seront utiles à tout MJ de Symbaroum). En plus les cartes sont magnifiques. Par contre on attend la suite (the east marshes) avec impatience !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Symbaroum: Playing with Goblins
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:25:12
Horror in idyllic Scandinavia - a Mephisto review

Vaesen Scandinavia in the 19th century is not as tranquil as one might think at first glance. Here, too, the drastic changes brought about by industrialization are intruding and disrupting the old order. But not only is society in upheaval; the supernatural beings of Scandinavia, called Vaesen, are also reacting to the changes. As ancient traditions are forgotten, and industry encroaches on nature, many of these beings feel threatened and respond aggressively accordingly. While humans and Vaesen knew how to live together for many centuries, confrontations now occur again and again. Some humans have the gift of seeing the Vaesen, who are normally invisible in their true form. This people form the Society, who wants to protect humanity from the Vaesen. From their headquarters, a castle in Uppsala, they seek out these creatures.

Vaesen is another role-playing game by Fria Ligan, based on the same rules base as Forbidden Lands. Four attributes and twelve skills define player characters. For tests, the combined value of an attribute and a skill determines the number of six-sided dice rolled. Any 6s rolled are successes, and the more successes achieved, the better. Characters are created based on ten archetypes. In addition to their game statistics, characters also need a motivation, a trauma (a bad experience that scarred them), a dark secret, and relationships with the other player characters. Depending on the chosen archetype, the resource level (the financial means) is also defined, and the different archetypes have various talents available giving them further bonuses.

Instead of hit points or damage levels, characters in Vaesen have three physical and three mental states they can check, each of which means the loss of a die. If all these conditions are checked, a character is broken and thus out of action. There is a risk of critical damage, which may become permanent at the end of the adventure if the character is particularly unlucky. However, some of these injuries can also provide special insights that improve a character. Because of the small number of conditions, fights are correspondingly dangerous and carry the risk of a character being broken quickly. Most Vaesen cannot be defeated by normal weapons either but require rituals to banish them forever. Since many of these creatures are suitably terrifying, the game also provides rules for fear, so characters often have to pass fear tests when they first encounter an enemy.

A central element of the game is the Society, a group of people with the second sight who deal with the Vaesen. Even though the Society has a long history, it has been gone for several years. The player characters are now a new generation with the Society's headquarters, but they must rediscover its knowledge for themselves. The only contact with a former member is the woman who granted them access to the castle but otherwise spends her time in an asylum.

The Society's headquarters also takes on an essential role within the game. Various resources, rooms, and upgrades can be used between adventures to restore the headquarters from its dilapidated state to its former glory. The rooms give corresponding benefits, for example, to gather knowledge or resources, heal damage or even provide equipment. Another chapter briefly and compactly introduces the mystical north. Even though Vaesen is set in the 19th century, it does not claim to depict this time historically correct. Instead, the setting should roughly provide the atmosphere without clarifying which changes happened precisely at which time. Accordingly, life in general and, above all, the city of Uppsala are portrayed briefly.

Much more space is given to the Vaesen themselves. After the brief general explanation about their origins and powers, the rulebook introduces a whole arsenal of creatures that have sprung from Norse mythology and revolve around ghosts, fairy creatures, and trolls. The emphasis here is on background rather than game statistics. As mentioned earlier, Vaesen usually cannot be defeated by brute force. Even if their abilities are predefined to a certain extent, the details are left to the game master to provide for surprises accordingly. Small adventure ideas about the Vaesen offer story hooks for the game master.

The book concludes with a chapter on game mastering, clearly structuring adventures in their flow and central conflicts. Usually, there is a primary conflict and a secondary conflict. While the primary conflict must be resolved, the secondary conflict presents an addition to the adventure. The game also works with an escalation system that allows the game master to steer the adventure towards disaster if the players do not act skillfully. Notes on atmosphere, etc., are also provided in the chapter, as well as some tips on how to present the game world. The book concludes with the adventure The dance of dreams, which confronts the players with a threatening enemy and is meant as a hook for a larger story. The adventure offers a solid introduction to the game world and should be quite challenging for beginners. In addition to the free character creation via the archetypes, the book also offers tables for creating characters by rolling on various tables for the character's life path, which determines the statistics.

Vaesen offers an exciting setting and an intriguing facet of horror that draws on the traditional mythology of Scandinavia. After all, the inspiration for this role-playing game was a book of the same name about the mythological creatures of Scandinavia. The time period of the 19th century and the idea of the Society, which has to be rebuilt by the player characters, adds to the fascinating background. The rules system is coherent. The important thing here is that the Vaesen cannot be defeated by brute force, but the players have to use investigative work to find out their weaknesses, so they have a chance to stand up against them. I enjoyed Vaesen's ideas very much. In particular, the extremely atmospheric illustrations convey perfectly the flair and the contrast between the seemingly idyllic world of Scandinavia and the ancient horror that lurks beneath.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

ALIEN RPG Colonial Marines Art Book
by Carson H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 09:33:20

FANTASTIC ART!! But only 17 pages??? I'm pretty sure the main book will have lots more but we waited almost 6 months for this after pre-ordering. I'm disappointed!!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Colonial Marines Art Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The Chapel of Blood - An adventure site for Forbidden Lands
by Toni K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2021 06:26:49

An amazing addition to any Ravenland campaign. Some heavy encountery for careless adventurers, so I recommend this for a bit more experienced adventure group. It really adds well to the Lore of Ravenland and the whole Campaign and I could make really good use of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chapel of Blood - An adventure site for Forbidden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

WOLF & RAVEN
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 17:36:48

I had the pleasure of helping to playtest this. I love Forbidden Lands and this module made me want to play a campaign as a viking! I especially enjoy the idea of standing against a giant, shield wall at the ready.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WOLF & RAVEN
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you John! Both for the support and for helping to bring this product to life. You're a real one!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 206 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG