Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Alberetor - The Haunted Waste
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 20:39:46

No where near as good as previous books. Scenarios don't make logical sense ... the actions of various factions only work for convience. Have played through and loved the previous books ... now I'm stuck trying to rationalize an entire adventure. I have very little hope for the final installment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alberetor - The Haunted Waste
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Road to Armageddon - Gear Book
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 19:11:59

As a stalwart Twilight 2k, RPG, and military science fan, I have to say I'm of mixed mind on both this book, and all RtA content thusfar.

On the one hand - this book is full of fascinating insight and detail into a variety of topics. A vast amount of information, from a detailed weapon and equipment list, to figures on biological weapons, post-armageddon economics, and more. This is clearly a labor of love, and it shows, with the sheer breadth of subject matter available for a GM.

On the other hand - non-insignificant amounts of this information is either opinion presented as fact (the entire segment on Category-IV mobilization division organization and what equipment they'd have, claims on Soviet vehicular reliability, and claims on the impossibility of the setting as presented in T2K4E) or is simply not correct. Author confuses, or gets wrong, details about firearms in the segment - examples include asserting the FAMAS F1 fired 7.5mm French (it did not), that the M16A4 was fully automatic and used exclusively by USMC (it was neither - he may be confusing the fully automatic M16A3, issued in limited quantities to the Navy and Seabees, and not know that while the -16A4 was issued to the entire USMC, it also featured widespread Army usage), and incorrect information on the proliferation of the AEK-971 and AN-94. While the vast majority of information presented is correct, just enough is gotten wrong that it is difficult to take everything at face value, without double-checking. Some design choices presented in said segment as well can be considered strange - the IAI Desert Eagle is stated, not in .50AE, but in .44 Magnum, the AN-94 has no note of it's unique "double tap" mechanic, etc. The latter is not a major criticism, but it is worth noting. As well, the equipment "cutoff" date is not the standard Twilight date of late 90's, but includes equipment all the way into the present day. Without independent knowledge of the equipment within, it's very easy to fail to see the anachronisms, and use anachronistic equipment.

In addition, the author insists on using many custom elements of mechanical design. For instance, all gear mass is measured in Kilograms instead of 4th Edition "encumbrance units," which renders conversion to 4th ed standards an irritating task. Vehicles are stated up with custom turret armor and top and bottom armor, which requires five additional pages of custom ruling detailing additional hit locations, maintenance, and the intricacies of modern armor. Smallarms ammunition has custom rules for handgun and SMG ammunition. And so forth. While all of these, in a vacuum, could be successfully presented as variant rules for increased intricacy, the author does not offer the choice to use or not, but presumes that, simply, they will be used. This makes the rulebook very self-contained - it's more than a little difficult to use "Road to Armageddon" stats or equipment with other third-party sources, or even with content contained within the core rulebook itself.

As a side note, the author is highly disparaging of 4th edition, and makes no attempt to hide this. While they're of course entitled to their own opinion, it became somewhat irritating to be reminded of the author's displeasure of the current edition every ten pages (metaphorically).

Overall, I would recommend purchasing this if you have the money, have a firm knowledge of what you want out of this book, and have your own independent knowledge of the contents within, so that you can read the opinion presented within with a critical mind, and draw your own opinions. Again, the breadth of knowledge presented in here is fantastic, and, even if you don't take everything in here blindly, the information within can help you shape your own opinions of gear and how to run a Twilight campaign. However, do not purchase this book if you're looking for a quick list of equipment to "slot in" to an existing campaign. All contained within here must either be used exclusively with other RtA content, or converted out of the RtA rules system, and information contained here is best served independently reviewed by any GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Road to Armageddon - Gear Book
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Creator Reply:
You are of course, correct about some of the weapons data ... mainly because the text was taken more or less straight from a previous non-TW2000 product of the same name and used the best information available to me at the time (though how I missed tghe FAMAS F1 data is a mystery - however, the Desert Eagle, the latest model, IS available in .50 AE) ... as for the 'anachronistic' weapons. Well, there is a note somewhere stating that, yes, some of the gear included wasn't historically available in AD 2000 ... and that often this seems to have been because defence procurfement budgets were slashed around the world after 1989 ... if we accept the proposition that this is NOT the case, which the background does, then it is not at all unreasonable to assume that the 'anachronistic' programs would, indeed, have been available by AD 2000 (indeed, a number of them were *intended* to be, before said cutbacks) ... GMs are, of course, able to use or not use such gear at their option. As for the equipment of Category IV Divisions, well, if you have been following the coverage of the current unpleasantness in Ukraine you may have noticed that some units raised by the Donetsk and Luhansk 'republics' have been equipped with ... Nagant Rifles ... indeed, even before this, these Republics also fielded T-55 Tanks and other older equipment. One can reasonably equate these units with 'Category IV' units. And, in any case, we do know that the equipment parks for Category IV Cold War era units *were* WW2-1950s era gear (or at least seemingly authoritative cold war era sources did ... and the examples cited would seem to support that assertion) Russian Vehicle Reliability: Well, it's no secret that, compared to Western/NATO stuff that Russian vehicles were comparatively rubbish ... even during the Cold War this was understood by analysts (as, indeed, a perusal of any Cold War era source on the Soviert army will probably glean) and, again, as we have been seeing in Ukraine, they're *still* rubbish. Part of this is due to poor design and equally poor build quality (as, indeed, I indicate in the book) and part is because the Russian economy through the entire 20th century has lacked the required number of technicians to run both their civilian economy AND keep their armed forces vehicles fully functional ... and this has not changed all that much (again, as reports from their rubbish performance in Ukraine has been showing). As for turret armour and custom ammo rules, well, I understand that not everyone was pleased with the decision to pretend Tanks don't have turrets. If anyone thinks that turretless tanks are the best thing since sliced bread they are, of course, welcome to ignore the Turret armour values and simply use the Hull values. As for ammo, well, some of the values in the core rules make little sense ... hence the changes. In almost all cases, however, the changes can be ignored and the core values may be used instead ... Weight in kilos vs Encumbrance units. Ah. The latter, are ... interesting ... but are all over the place and (to me) make little or no sense ... but, sure, anyone who really wants to use Encumbrance Units is welcome to. As I recall there is even a statement in the core rules that (from memory) I EU is 'about' 3 kilos (or is it 2 kilos?) ... which simply doesn't work for a lot of gear .. but anyone who wants to use EU can simply say 2/3 kilos = 1 EU. A doddle, basically. As for my dislike of many of the design choices made to convert TW2000 to the MYZ system ... I've owned every iteration of TW2000 from 1st Edition and ALL of them made an attempt (not always with complete success) to closely model real world values. MYZ rules are mostly fine for the fantasy background OF Mutant: Year Zero (a fun game, which I also have) IF you don't look at them as being realistic in any way, but, as used in 4th Edition, well, I am not the only gamer who expressed concern about many of the design choices. So, I guess, if I present rules that make the game more realistic and people don't want that, that's OK ... in almost all cases the differences can be ignored ... or considered as 'chrome' for occasional use. Still, sales are steady, so I guess there are enough GMs out there who seem to have ideas similar to what is presented to be viable.
Death in Space Core Rules
by David [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 00:46:55

Dark, gritty, and brimming with style and tone, this game is essentially 1/3 The Expanse, 1/3 Mad Max, and 1/3 Lovecraft. If these things are your jam, this game's for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

A Wicked Secret
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 17:33:49

I find this to be an excellent compilation of adventures for Vaesen. Admittedly, I don't want to say more because I would give away details that if you are a player you should not know. My only nitpicks, and I could be incorrect about the one, are these two.

  1. Doesn't the church in Sweeden at that time allow for married priests or am I completely off base on this? All the priests seem to be single.
  2. I don't think enough emphasis is put on the fact that the characters have the sight. There are adventures where everyone can seemingly see the Vaesen, which goes against the conceit of the game.

LIke I said, though, these are niotpicks. It is very nice to have horror that is not cosmic in nature in an RPG. These four adventures add to the fabric of the game world very nicely. I wholeheartedly recommend this book for any Vaesen player.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wicked Secret
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

The One Ring™ Core Rules
by Seb G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 15:37:29

Great game, used to play Adventures in Middle Earth, which is also great, but the 5E rules did not reflect the particulars of Tolkien's world as well as these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Abandoned Crypt of the Iron Eye - An adventure site for Forbidden Lands
by Lloyd W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2022 00:30:17

Forbidden lands being a huge sandbox, it's full of these little dungeons and adventure sites that players can walk to at any time that are tangents to the major adventure sites presented in Raven's Purge or Bitter Reach. What's an unprepped GM to do? Well, spend a dollar and grab this little guy as backup. Clear, creative, and easy to run, and is even complete with an appropriate legend. Great stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abandoned Crypt of the Iron Eye - An adventure site for Forbidden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 13:26:52
In space no one can hear you die - a Mephisto review

Death in Space

The universe is collapsing. The Void, a strange presence that infects and corrupts everything, is the messenger of this collapse. Strange creatures from the edge of the universe are invading civilized systems. Are these stories just old wives' tales or a real threat? Even for the civilized worlds, all is not well. The Gemstone War soon broke out after unique gemstones were found in the Tenebris system, irreplaceable for advanced technologies. The war has no real winners and only losers, as the supply of Gemstones has dried up. Therefore, everything is recycled over and over again and worn down piece by piece like this. In this world of inevitable decay and with its mysterious threat, one's reputation and contracts are what keep one alive (probably) ...

Players do not know what to expect from the title of some role-playing games. With Death in Space, the name does not leave them guessing. Death in Space is a science-fiction role-playing game that builds its light rules on an old-school foundation – with simple stats, many random rolls, and random tables. Only four game statistics – Body, Dexterity, Savvy, and Tech – are required and range from -3 to +3. Rolls are made with a d20 against a minimum roll of 12 using these modifiers. There are rolls with an advantage or disadvantage, which means rolling two d20s and taking the better (advantage) or worse one (disadvantage). These mechanisms define the core of the rules already.

In addition to stats, an origin is rolled at character creation, allowing the choice of one of two advantages. The origin types are also darkly bizarre: as Chrome you are an ancient AI in an organic body, as Solpod you spend most of your time in cryogenic sleep and thus exist for eternities, and as Velocity Cursed you have already lost touch with reality. Thereafter, a few details are rolled out, and stats are determined – and you're almost ready to go.

As a special feature, there are the Void Points, which can be used to buy advantages or activate cosmic mutations as special powers. However, they also pose the risk of corrupting the character.

The next step is creating the hub, which can be a spaceship or space station that connects the characters. Here, too, game stats and many strange backgrounds and peculiarities give the setting its atmosphere. For example, the hub may be infamous for a riot or massacre, and the interior is painted in luminescent paint.

Besides rules for combat (including space combat, which relies more on boarding maneuvers to avoid destroying valuable ships), most other rules revolve around equipment degradation and repair. The approach that everything breaks, is recycled, and gets more and more used up is built into the rules. Besides that, there are a few mechanisms for activities and travel in space.

The book introduces the Tenebris system as a standard background and offers a scenario with a conflict to keep the players busy, but without prescribing a solution. Equipment, modules to expand the hub, and many random tables round out the book.

The layout of Death in Space, like the rules, is deliberately retro. An old computer font in white on black pages, monochrome (but not always black and white) illustrations, which sometimes have the detailed drawing style of fictional spaceship blueprints from the 80s, define the tone here. Take the gritty background, the consistent and unusual layout, and the simple, hardcore old-school rules, and you find the same principles as in Mörk Borg, even if Death in Space has its own less over-the-top but no less gritty flair. The book conveys its style very well and leaves plenty of room for the individual group to fill the collapsing universe with their ideas. Characters are quickly created – and, presumably, die quickly. The book is brutally honest enough to let the character creation end with the words "This was the last step, have a nice death in space".

If you like old-school rules, gritty settings, and dystopian sci-fi (or if you have always wanted to know what would happen if someone had cross-bred D&D with Alien in the 1980s), Death in Space is a very well and consistently implemented role-playing game that is presented in style.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Black Rose Keep
by Stephen R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2022 06:17:55

I ran this adventure last night as part of my Raven's Purge campaign. I think my players were entertained and I certianly had fun running it. We completed most of the location in a 2.5 hour session. If I have one critisism it is the main enemy is described as having a weakness but that weakness is not laid out mechanically, unless I am missing something. I would run this again for another group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Rose Keep
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

CY_BORG
by billy h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2022 00:49:16

This is a really really cool system. It has a bit more crunch compared to something like Mork Borg (my favorite system) but remains very light on rules without sacraficing depth. Can't wait to see some published adventures for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CY_BORG
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2022 22:47:02

Fairly light take on the genre. MOTHERSHIP and its products are so similar to this you can probably use them together.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by Ivan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 14:08:12

A grim, dark, grimy science fiction game where life is cheap, and resources are worth gold. Imagine a lovechild of Mörk Borg and The Expanse. Et voilá ^^

Highly, HIGHLY recommended. Beautiful artwork, simply amazing setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MÖRK BORG CULT: HERETIC
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 11:45:55

Heretical expansions - a Mephisto review

Mörk Borg Cult Heretic

Under the title Heretic, another volume on Mörk Bork has been published, mixing material from the original authors with fan contributions from the Mörk Borg Cult. As in Ferectory, the book presents a wild mix in the even wilder layout typical of Mörk Borg.

For example, the book begins with tables to quickly roll out a bizarre cult for player characters to clash with. Unheroic Feats offers 36 feats to enhance the characters as an alternative system. The selection of feats fits the tone of Mörk Borg: from the Bone Crafter, who can craft weapons and armor from human bones to the Negotiator, who can de-escalate fights, the selection features some strange and/or horrible character upgrades. In addition, there are two new character classes like the Sacrilegious Songbirg - the gloomy interpretation of a bard - and the self-mutilating Shedding Vicar.

The book also has adventures to offer: in Grave left wanting, the characters must escape a graveyard. Bloat features a dangerous dungeon. In Selpuchre of the Swamp Witch, the player characters can explore the tomb, possibly meeting the Swamp Witch, likely experimenting with a dangerous altar, and probably dying a brutal death.

In addition, new monsters include the Bone Bowyer, the Bitor, and the Rotten Nurse - the latter with another dungeon adventure.

You are cursed allows to punish characters with the roll of a d20 to inflict nasty, unusual, and gruesome curses - and provides starting points on how to break the curse - which, however, is rarely much more pleasant.

On the other hand, The Merchant offers characters "interesting" artifacts - for a price. If these tools aren't dangerous enough, Blackpowder Weapons for the Rich and Foolhardy lets you upgrade further, from pistols to cannons.

Heretic is a chaotic mix of entries in the game's intense layout with gloomy images, brutal colors, and extreme typography. The gruesome world of Mörk Borg is expanded with more horrors, and the book offers many more ways to make characters die a bizarre, brutal, and, if necessary, senseless death. If you like Mörk Borg, you'll get an excellent addition to this extreme setting.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MÖRK BORG CULT: HERETIC
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

THE BUNKER
by Jesper L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2022 04:10:45

And here it is - the thrilling conclusion to the 'Fairytale on the Vistula' series. and what an ending it is! Thoroughly satisfying set-up, compelling, believeable characters and just enough cinematics to make your imagination fire on all cylinders (and a few you didn't know you had..)

The author clearly knows his stuff - History is flawlessly integrated in a scenario that you just HAVE to win...otherwise...

Loving the old East German Kommissar (no, the police kind) with the soft hat and cigar, the 'nazi' twins and the female scientist with the Quest. And in the middle, us - having to save what is left.

This series has really re-stoked our interest in TW2000 (and rpg'ing in general..). A wonderful trip it is, indeed.

Five shining stars.

Please - keep "em coming, mr. Worthy.. you're doing great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THE BUNKER
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Mythic Japan - Vaesen Setting Expansion
by Lucas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2022 20:28:35

Holy moly! Truly took away a lot of the heavy lifting for the GM and transported The Society and players to Japan in a beautiful way. I can't wait to apply this vivid world to my next Vaesen game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Japan - Vaesen Setting Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2022 01:28:01

Tested a short modul, converted from Alien rpg, i like the mechanics, but the Alien rpg has more power and stress.

If i wanted to run a longer campagin in a dark sci-fi world, this is a great choice. I like to explore this some more :D

GM Workshop by Nerdy Productions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 303 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf