Pegasus Digital
Browse Categories
to €











Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2024 20:22:45

Love this little system. It has plenty to pull from and use in other games - tables are great, advice is solid - but the game itself is a nice rules light affair aimed at fantasy adventure gaming. Easy to grab and go, a handful of d6 and some scratch paper and there's a game.

Still updating the PDF in 2024 so I figure I owed a review that's quite overdue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Rats
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Waking of Willowby Hall
by Holly [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2024 09:24:25

Ran this for my players today and they loved it. A great one-session adventure to throw into your game wherever you want. Tons of interesting treasure, very dangerous, and generally pretty good momentum. (Make sure seals break pretty frequently so the house isn't in Sleeping mode forever.) My players ended up completely missing all the ghost NPCs but still had a good time with the other party and the giant. Do be sure to bring a deck of cards for the blackjack game--rolling for it just isn't as fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking of Willowby Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Zachary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2024 18:17:46

Thanks to Questing Beast for the latest update to the pdf of Maze Rats. I am a blind player, and the pdf file is now screen reader accessible. Game is fast and lots of cool random tables. Probably best suited to a one shot or short form campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Rats
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Chad [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2024 12:16:14

This is a great system to use in a pinch, but the real value I've gotten from this game over the years lies in its excellent set of tables!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Artem [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 19:42:39

Huge fan of this! Easy layout, slick and streamlined mechanics. Love the make your own spells section. GM advice in the back is very thoughtful and hugely inspiring. Very excited to try running! As a newcomer to OSR style games this really makes the low rule approach simple and accessible and very inviting. Super rad, thank you!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Jeff [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 17:25:11

Fantastic little game. My favorite osr compatible system



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Knave 2e Kickstarter Preview
by Chris [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2023 14:02:54

Absolutely fantastic.

The random gen tables are great. Generating anything on the fly leads to less prep work for the DM.

Rules are streamlined. No derived modifier, BAB, proficiency bonus... I can run this with my kids. I can run this drinking with friends who've never played a trrpg before.

Each Ability is valuable. Dex isn't king.

A spell is a sentence, not a EULA agreement that the table has to enter litigation over.

Time is uniform. 6 rounds in a minute, 6 turns in an hour, 6 shifts in a day = so good.

Slot based inventory is great. I'll never go back to individual item weights.

Coins as XP makes players treasure hungry, which makes them push their luck, which makes the game fun.

Some people were complaining about the rules around rolling Ability Scores. I read them myself and do not understand the confusion, so I'm assuming that I'm reading a later draft that's been made clearer. Good on Ben for taking feedback and incorporating it into the book!

This thing rules. Go buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knave 2e Kickstarter Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Knave
by Benjamin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2023 23:34:46

Knave is a very solid system if you want to start playing a classic OSR module quickly. Character creation is quick, the mechanics are simple, especially for anyone familiar with D&D 5e, and the rules, while light, give you everything you need to run a typical OSR dungeon.

It does show its limitations if you want to keep using the characters who survive that first adventure. You will have to do all the world building for the PC’s home base on your own.

Additionally, since Knave characters only advance via stats, but their capabilities are mainly defined by the gear they pick up, you will want a book or two of weird classic D&D magic items for an interesting sustained campaign.

Easily one of the best minimalist OSR rulesets available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knave
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2023 12:15:47

Maze Rats is top. My first RPG expereince back in the early 80's was Tunnels & Trolls and I've had a soft spot for it ever since, and this has prejudiced me in favour of short and simple rules.

Maze Rats is really short, and digest size to boot when printed out. Character creation is a breeze, literally a 5 minute job and the game is chock full of all sorts of random tables to flesh out the game world. The randomness even runs the magic system where magic using characters get one spell per day of a randomly determined title, and then decide what it does during play. I love this.

The other thing I love, and which is a surprise in Maze Rats seeing as the author's other game, Knave, is an OSR game, is that it isn't D20 based. Rolling a single die, 20 sided or otherwise, has always felt too swingy for me with exactly the same odds of rolling a 1 as a 20 or a 13 or whatever. Maze Rats uses 2D6 giving results a pleasing bell curve. The default target number is high encouraging players to be creative and play dirty in order to get advantage and a more realistic chance of success in their actions.

Short. Lots of randomness. Minimalist character sheet. Crazy magic. Not D20. Everything about Maze Rats is a winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Rats
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Waking of Willowby Hall
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2023 13:57:37

Picked this up after hearing about it on the Fear of the Black Dragon podcast. It's by the Questing Beast, which is probably the best D&D tangential rpg reviewer on Youtube. Everything from this dude should be an auto-buy! If you are bored with typical adventures for D&D, buy this now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking of Willowby Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Knave 2e Kickstarter Preview
by ypikaye [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2023 07:51:45

Can't wait to buy the final pdf ! Knave 1 remains a companion for other jdr.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knave 2e Kickstarter Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Knave
by Eli D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2023 18:34:56

Excellent arcadey feel. Character options are pretty limited, but it's worth it to just get right into the action and not trip over actions and rules



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knave
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Maze Rats
by Sarah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2023 20:45:34

This product is INCREDIBLE for the tables alone. As a GM who has struggled to come up with my own NPCs, locations, dungeons, adventures etc., these tables are EXACTLY what I've been missing my whole life. They provide all the prompts I could ever need to generate endless amounts of cool NPCs, monsters, locations, dungeons etc. And it's so succinct - just what you need and nothing more. Plus, the layout is such that you can easily roll 2d6 to get random results for each list. Great layout, great resource. GAME CHANGER! Thanks Ben!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maze Rats
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Waking of Willowby Hall
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2023 08:06:11

This is a great (potentially) one-shot adventure. It's well laid out with great set pieces, NPC's, and a constantly growing level of danger that should make for an extremely memorable game. The writing is setup in such a way that prep level is minimal and easy to reference mid session.

SPOILER WARNING In this adventure, the PC's are actually the SECOND adventuring party to arrive at Willoughby Hall. The first group recently stole the goose that lays golden eggs from the giant that lives in the clouds. In his rage, the Giant has taken the magical church bell and is using it as a flail. Periodically, when the bell rings out, a cataclysmic curse drives the game closer to complete destruction. It's up to the players to avoid the gaze of the giant as he searches for the first group that stole his goose, meanwhile you have to deal with the castles denizens, ghosts, and other physical dangers.

This product is almost perfect. My complaint feels a little nitpicky, but I'd like to see a print version that allows you to print it out into the booklet form you see on the website here. This probably won't bother most readers, but it's something that I would have liked.

This is definitely in my top 5 favorite one-shot adventures, and an excellent product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Waking of Willowby Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Knave
by Jonathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2023 09:01:32

Cool ideas here! equipment makes your characters, much like the old Ultima games. Well worth reading!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knave
Click to show product description

Add to Pegasus Digital Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by OneBookShelf